If you are a theme developer or a Plugin developer you must have heard about WP Reset Plugin if not, you will get to know about this Plugin today.
WP Reset Plugin is database and site Reset Plugin that instantly Resets the site database and settings to default without interfering with the files. WP Reset Plugin so far is the safest Plugin to use, with multiple fail-safe mechanisms it will never let your important data wipe away easily. It is Plugin developed for the developers to ease out their work and help them by speeding up the testing and debugging process.
Features of WP Reset Plugin
WP Reset Plugin comes along with WP-CLI support and its help commands are accessible via WP help Reset. You have to confirm the commands by default but you have a choice of skipping the confirmation using –yes option but make sure you know what you are doing because there is no option to revert changes.
A database snapshot copies the WP Database tables, either a standard table or custom table which is saved in the currently used database. It is mainly used as a development tool and can also be used as a backup utility but WP developers suggest no to use it on a live site. You can use a database snapshot to check out the changes made by a Plugin in your database files. It takes nearly 2 seconds to create a database snapshot in WordPress. You can even restore the development environment after testing database related changes with this feature.
MULTISITE (WP-MU) SUPPORT
This feature is still in test mode and the developers of WP Reset suggests to use it on subsites rather than using it on the main site. It will Reset multiple sites in one click. Be a little more careful while using this feature.
PARTIAL RESET TOOLS
- Delete transients – database entries related to transient will be Reset. Including expired and non-expired transients, and orphaned timeout entries.
- Delete uploads – each and every file in /uploads/ will be deleted.
- Delete Plugins – Plugin collection will be deleted except WP Reset.
- Reset theme options – themes that use the WP theme mods API would Reset.
- Delete themes – deletes all of your themes.
- Delete .htaccess file – deletes the .htaccess file.
Before installing this Plugin we suggest you have a detailed knowledge about its functions which are going to discuss below.
RESETTING WILL TERMINATE:
- Posts, all of the pages, custom post types, visitors’ comments, media entries, users
- default WP database tables
- all custom database tables with a similar prefix in WP-config.php
What will remain spotless:
- media files – remains in the WP-uploads folder but will no longer be filed under Media in the admin section
- Plugins, themes, uploads – everything remains at its place
- site title, WordPress address, site address, site language, and search engine visibility settings will not be affected
- currently logged in user will be returned with the current username and password in the database
When you click the Reset button you will be asked to confirm your submission as the changes that will take place after Resetting are not reversible. WP Reset Plugin will reactivate after Resetting only if you have enabled it in the post-Reset settings.